Welcome to ‘Letters of Mist’

17 Jul

Image

I really wanted the name of this blog to be ‘Letters of Smoke.’  Like in the Neruda poem:

“Who writes your name in letters of smoke among the stars of the south?

Oh, let me remember you as you were before you existed.”

Every Day You Play (Juegas Todos los Días)

But that address was already taken.  So ‘Letters of Mist’ it is.

My name is Elizabeth.  A brief introduction: I stand five feet and one inch tall.  The walls of my room are blue, which is my favorite color.  I own 31 pairs of shoes, most of which I don’t wear.  My preferred perfume is Juicy Couture’s Viva la Juicy.  I have large ears.  And I like to write.  This is probably why you are here.

There’s no real point to saying why I write, other than describing it in a story or essay (which I will do in my first real post).  The best way to put it is in the words of one of my creative writing workshop students: “You write because you have to.  Or you’ll spontaneously combust.  And that’s, you know, hard to clean up.”

Thanks for reading, and I hope you come back.  Soon I’ll put up some honest-to-god, authentic writing.

Elizabeth

Leave a Reply

