Six Little Red Caps: Rose

3 Aug

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Momma doesn’t go to Grandma’s house

anymore. That’s why she sends us, her six little

red girls, on the tired dirt road behind our house

and through the forest full of old secrets.

 

Grandma says that when Momma was little,

just eleven like me,

Something Awful happened to her in that forest.

That’s why she doesn’t go in there;

maybe Something Awful is still waiting

for her, a wolf with its jaws wide open.

There are wolves in that forest, Rosie,

and you be careful,” that’s what Grandma says to me.

Don’t go off the path, now.”

 

But I think the forest is beautiful, especially

when it rains and little drops of water

go plink plinkplink on the misty lake

and the trees weep memories of the

boys and girls who used to play on the

rusty forgotten playground before the sky

dreamed me up and I rode a rainstorm

down to earth.

And I’ve never seen a wolf there anyway.

 

There’s something weird though.

I always leave for Grandma’s when the sun is up

because I could get lost in the dark, but

it’s always night when I get there.

 

Isn’t that odd?

 

Written with the permission of Auriea Harvey.  Other poems in the series include:

Six Little Red Caps: Prologue

Six Little Red Caps: Scarlet

Six Little Red Caps: Carmen

Six Little Red Caps: Ruby

Six Little Red Caps: Ginger

Six Little Red Caps: Robin

‘The Path’ is an incredibly complex game with a lot of different interpretations.  If you have views regarding the meaning of any of these characters, especially Rose, I’d love to hear your comments!

4 Responses to “Six Little Red Caps: Rose”

  1. briandrush August 3, 2012 at 3:37 pm #

    Your poetry is amazing. I’m recommending it to everyone I know.

  2. Dawn's Stalker August 5, 2012 at 12:27 pm #

    Lovely Imagery, Classic theme. Really liked it =D

Leave a Reply

