Ars Poetica

23 Aug

Ask me to paint you a picture

in sweeping lines,

a malleable and downturned Degas

or a stark Picasso in moon hues –

at this I am useless, nothing,

a child, my hands utterly without

skill –

 

but give me paper and a stub

of slick candle-wax for light

and I will shade the angles of your

face in metaphor;

pencil in your ash-tree eyes

with pearly alliteration;

daub in the shadows under your

cheeks with black-tipped

assonance –

 

let me draw the earthen thorn-curls

of your hair

in hyperboles and oxymorons,

bring you to life on a canvas woven

of seething anastrophe.

 

I dug up this poem from my old files – it’s maybe two years old.  Not the best in terms of technique, maybe, but it really expresses how I feel about writing in general.


I’m moving to UVA in two days, so my posts probably won’t be regular for the next few weeks!  Wish me luck, WordPress.

2 Responses to “Ars Poetica”

  1. Denise Yagel August 23, 2012 at 11:11 pm #

    Dug up but still beautiful. Have a wonderful time of transition, and remember the moment your parents leave and you’re really on your own … it’s a whole new world of experiences and moment to write about, Elizabeth!

    • elizabethballou August 23, 2012 at 11:59 pm #

      thank you so much, Mrs. Yagel!

      and indeed, I expect college to provide a wealth of topics to write about!

Leave a Reply

